• Sarah Bipiti

    NAME ::: Sarah Bipiti         COUNTRY ::: Zimbabwe

    Introduction

    My name is Sarah. I’m 27 years old and live here in Malawi now and i’m married with one child. He is three years old now. I’m from Zimbabwe, but I came to Malawi at the end of 2009. I got married to a Malawian in Zimbabwe and because of the situation in Zimbabwe we decided to move here. His family is here, so we went here also to live with them. But we also plan to go back to Zimbabwe at the end of this year to visit my parents and have time with them.

    In fact I’m the last born in a family of six children and I think I was the most spoiled child, I think I can say. I used to get everything from my parents. Whatever I asked for I got from them. Maybe that is how it is as the last born. So I was spoiled. Basically I can say I grew up in a good childhood. I grew up in a city, close to the Victoria Falls. We visited the rural areas just for holiday.

     

    What is most important to you?

    I think the most important thing in life for me, to be honest, its money. Because without money you can’t really do anything. Money gives you opportunities. So I think this is important as it allows you to do what you want and have the live you want. Basically it gives freedom. Without money you are locked and no one looks at you. So I think that is very important to me. Without money it’s not working. You need it to live.

     

    What has influenced you the most in your life?

    Who influenced me the most was a person in Zimbabwe, a woman. I was still young and I saw her on television. She encouraged me to get educated. From that day on I understood the importance of education for myself. From now on I would just walk to a better future. So I’m still on my way for more and better education, even when right now the financial means are the biggest struggle in that.

     

    What has been an important turning point in your life?

    The biggest turning point for me was at a funeral of somebody that I knew well. He died in an accident on the way home from school. At that point I decided to always put all effort I can into what I do and try to be good with whatever I start, because that day I realized that every time anything can happen anywhere. I was 14 years old back than, so quite young still, but it had a big impact on me. I think it made me more aware of that. And I know I have to love myself and others and try to be a good person.

     

    What makes you happy?

    Being in a good environment and being with somebody who loves me, like my husband and friends. That makes me very happy.

     

    What are you personally proud of?

    I’m proud on my education, that I could finish secondary school. I managed to get that, finish with all certificates. That makes me very proud as it is my fundament now.

     

    What have been the biggest struggles in your life?

    I never had bigger troubles in my life so far, luckily. Maybe that will come in the future, but so far I was very lucky in my life I think. I think the only thing that I could point to as a challenge, was when I came to Malawi and I did not have a job. I stayed at home and that was very difficult. At some point I was able to overcome that and find a job and now I can manage my own things, what is great.

     

    What would you change in your life, if you could change something?

    I think I might change my job, that could be great. You know, you have to aim higher in life and I feel I can do better than what I’m doing right now, so this is something I would change and I hope I’ll be able to change that. Whatever chances I find, I hope to be able to use them. For instance I like to make my own company, that is my dream. For myself, I dream of having my own company and being able to give jobs to other people. Creating employment for other people, that would be great. If I’m able to do that, that would fulfill my dreams.